Okay so you get money…

baall

Money can by clothes and gold, but it will never buy you class.

While I am not a big fan of popular culture I can’t say I haven’t got an appetite for a bit of gossip. Lets not forget the ever entertaining comments left on most gossip oriented Nigerian blogs. Linda Ikeji might only write two paragraphs for a long post, but I have to hand it to her for knowing how to run a micro blog I religiously check into her blog at the end of the day as part of my winding down ritual. There is only so much serious stuff one can take before the head explodes.

Lately I have to say there are a lot of posts of Nigerian celebrities flaunting their wealth. Gucci this, Louis that, Range here, Benz there. I mean some of these dudes are straight up posing with cash on Instagram. We get it, you’re balling….Moving on. It is obvious to see our celebs are simply copying what they have seen Western celebrities portray. It only makes sense that our celebs act out what their predecessors abroad have been doing for years now. I mean we have adopted their music, fashion, and other rather superficial cultures. I perfectly understand that this display of wealth is good for celebrity business. If not for any other reason it earns them a post in a lot of blogs. My only quarrel is how these celebs are portraying their new found wealth. There is something quite childish about posing with bottles or stacks of cash.

egodi

So you are paying with cash?

Feel free to flaunt for publicity but make an effort to do it right. If you want to show off a watch for example, a picture of your wrist on your lyric book with some words on it makes it look more casual. Why isn’t there some PR company managing these celebs image? Don’t get me wrong I like a lot of the music which is what matters, but guys stop to dey fall our hand. Add some class to the swag.

P.S I like how Wizkid balances out his flaunting by always expressing being thankful. Rappers take note.

wizz

Wizkid
Recently Star Boy Wizkid shared on Instagram, images of his newly acquired sleek Porsche Panamera S. Posing next to the sleek car with a price ranging from $75,000 to $175,000 depending on the spec, the music star said I am “Thankful”
From Bella Naija (abeg no sue me)

Leave a Reply

